National Achievement

Iowa State University recognizes participants in NMSC's National Achievement Scholarship Program which honors outstanding African American high school students. Eligible students may qualify for a full tuition scholarship over the course of four years (eight semesters) at Iowa State if they are named National Achievement Scholars.

Eligibility Requirements

To become eligible, students must complete all of the following:

  • Complete the Preliminary SAT®/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.
  • Be named a National Achievement Semifinalist.
  • Apply and be offered admission to Iowa State.
  • Notify the National Merit Scholarship Corporation that Iowa State University is your ''first choice college.''
  • Submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).
  • Specific scholarship guidelines concerning the National Achievement Scholarship Program are provided on the National Merit Scholarship Corporation's homepage.

When you have questions about the National Achievement Scholarship Program at Iowa State, please contact Jaclyn Tungesvik at 800 262-3810, extension 1363 or via e-mail at